Never Bake Alone

Uncategorized

7:58pm

Open Scene: both kids in bed, kitchen clean and toys are put away. Therefore I take my regular spot laying sprawled out on the floor in true millennial style with my laptop, TV, smart phone, multiple magazines an notepads in front of and all around me.

Small glass of milk and a cookie as a snack that I baked today.

Baking is relaxing. Baking is science. Baking can be fun for you and educational for your children. Never bake alone or for only yourself.

There is something wholesome about baking that gives you self-satisfaction. It is also emotional especially if the item you baked comes out like a big bowl of mush.

I can’t bake popovers for the life of me, I’ve tried countless times and they always come out like hockey pucks.

I still keep trying though.

 

So put on your aprons and try one of these basic baking recipes. I bake the bread at least 2 times a week and my toddler loves it.

Also if you make cookies give half the batch to your neighbor just because, ok?

 

Butter Biscuits

2 C Flour

½ C butter cold cut in tiny little pieces

1 tbs baking powder

1 tbs salt

1 c milk

Mix it all together and drop them on a baking sheet, the more imperfect the drop the better it comes out.

400 degrees for 18 minutes

 

Basic Bread

2 ¼ tsp yeast

1 c warm water

3 c flour

1 tsp honey

1 tsp salt

Mix dry then make a well pour in water and honey and mix. Then knead it. Rub it with EVOO and let it sit covered in a dark warm place for 1 hour so it can rise. After the bread has risen give the bread a basic egg or butter wash if you choose to then bake it at 450 degrees for 20 minutes.

Bread I made a couple of weeks back. As you can see I haven’t perfected the art of kneading but the bread came out WONDERFULLY. bread

 

Here is a photo of my hockey puck popovers (womp womp).

popovers

Most blogs share photos of food successes BUT I am into sharing both failure as well as success (shocker)!

 

 

 

One thought on “Never Bake Alone

Leave a Reply

